Making Moves: From the Urban Jungle to the Garden State

So, it’s about 9:30 in the morning on a Saturday. I’m stretched out on my sofa, watching the sun stream through my living room window, waiting patiently for my coffee to finish brewing. Both of my Angels are still asleep. No TV, no radio, just complete silence.

I’ve learned to appreciate silence.

It’s been a few months since I’ve written, and that’s because we have experienced a lot of life changes recently. The biggest one by far was moving from the hustle and bustle of New York City, and settling into the lofty suburbs of New Jersey. We had been staying with my SO’s father for quite some time, saving and dreaming of starting our life as a family in a house. However, when the realization came that it would take quite a few years to get us where we need to be , we decided to put that particular dream on hold for a bit and find an apartment that we were comfortable enough to be in for some time until we were able to purchase something. After a tireless search around the NYC and Westchester area, we couldn’t find anything that was reasonably priced…no surprise there. So after a few months, we began to entertain the idea of moving to the Garden State. Some friends of ours moved there last year, and said how much they loved it. And when a two bedroom opened up in their building, we figured why not? So we applied and we got in. Four months later, we are moved in, settled, and are living on a tree lined street in a NJ suburb.

Quite a change from the steel buildings and subway platforms of Manhattan.

Other than going back to having a steady stream of bills every month, the adjustment hasn’t been too much of a deal for me. The area that we live in reminds me so much of where I grew up, I almost expect to round the corner and end up at my father’s house. Hearing the rustle of wind blowing through the trees instead of the screeching of the subway train, people sharing friendly smiles as they pass by you on the street,  and the little mom-and-pop shops and cafes where people learn your name if you go in enough times. It’s lovely and comforting, and reminds me of my tiny hometown. Don’t get me wrong, there are many amazing things about NYC that still take my breath away. It just can be quite overwhelming for a small town girl like me. So it’s nice, once again, after weaving my way through the crowds of midtown, where I still work, to then come home to the peace and quiet of my neighborhood.

Angel is adjusting, but it’s taking some time. Although he traveled around the country in his youth, he was born and raised in Manhattan, and the urban jungle runs deep in his veins. The idea of having to drive to the store instead of walking, not being anywhere a near a subway, no street vendors shouting “3 for a dollar!” as he passes by, the steady stream of yellow cabs swirling around…it’s been a bit of a culture shock. But he’s getting there. He admitted (albeit begrudgingly) that this was a good move for us.

Last, but certainly not least, there’s my Little Angel. It always surprises me how intuitive he is, or how children are in general. I virtually grew up around kids (my grandmother ran a daycare center out of our house for many years), but to me they were just my friends, not kids. As a new mom and spending every day and nearly every hour with my kid, I notice things about them a lot more. In AJ’s case, I’ve seen how he noticed, was confused by, and then adjusted to the big change of moving.

Impressive for a two year old, I’d say.

It makes my heart happy to see how well he as settled to suburban life. That has been the biggest plus about moving. We have moved into an area with better schools, a safer neighborhood, a big beautiful park right across the street, and he has his own room and his own space to call his own. That may not seem like a big deal now, but as he gets older, it will be. It’s a big change from all of us being crowded into one room, trying to figure out what our next move will be.

So that’s been the biggest change so far, and it has set a lot of other things into motion. Eventually we would like to fulfill our dream of owning a home, but for now we are in a nice place, and spending a few years here wouldn’t be bad. I’m still working on making this place a home, a place of comfort and solace. This of course will include an enormous of amount of crafting, organizing, and “pinning” (Pinterest is the devil, I swear), but one thing I’ve been learning in my ripe old age of 32…you have to take life as it comes. One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

